Land of broken people and machines

It’s been a hell of a week, really. Though to be more accurate, the origin of this week starts back earlier. My computer had been having a number of serious errors recently. Where it never used to blue screen, now it had done so several times in recent weeks. Even more worrisome is that at least twice after those errors, the computer claimed that it couldn’t find a boot disk while rebooting. Gut instinct is that it was a hard drive problem. But the tests that I ran were not really conclusive. So this Monday, I took it into the shop to have it looked at.

Coincidentally, Monday I started coming down with a nasty bit of flu. By Tuesday I was absolutely wrecked. For two days I was a mess who could barely function and that minimal function was only enabled by considerable use of pharmaceuticals. I couldn’t even just sleep it away because sometimes I just felt that bad.

I started feeling better Thursday. Well enough to go to the repair shop and check on my computer. Part of the hard drive was failing, as expected. So I arranged to have it replaced with a SSD and I’d pick it back up the next day. Just as well, because I had something of a relapse as far as getting better and I had a terrible night of painful coughing and just utter misery.

Friday, eventually, I was able to head and get my PC and get back to the long task of setting up from a fresh install. I was also able to get a good night of sleep, so today has been what is *almost* a normal day. But I haven’t been able to be productive for over a week. I haven’t had much fun for almost a week. But maybe after a week of everything being broken, the situation might be improving.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started